Collected Stories of Wallace Stegner

Collected Stories of Wallace Stegner

Book - 1990 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Presents a selection of stories that includes "He Who Spits at the Sky," "The Women of the Wall," "Pop Goes the Alley Cat," "The View from the Balcony," and "The Wolfer"

Publisher: New York : Random House, 1990
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780394584096
Branch Call Number: Fiction STEGNER W
Characteristics: xvi, 525 pages ; 25 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jan 24, 2016

These stories range in length from 3 pages to 80. Many of the short ones are from the viewpoint of a young boy on the Saskatchewan prairie, where Stegner grew up. Some of the longest are set there too, one a complex story of an Englishman of 19 who, on a romantic whim, comes to be a cowboy. His crew gets caught in the terrible winter of 1907. This romantic boy is totally changed, and knows it. Two other favorites involve the idealistic young boy, who with his parents drive from the prairie to the mountains they can see from their home; and one told by a caustic retired literary agent whose wife drags him to a party thrown to let an up-and-coming piano player perform. These stories cover the West from LA gangland to Utah, and Saskatchewan, all places Stegner knew well and describes with care. I'd probably have liked them better if I hadn't read them in one big gulp. Each should be savored, as some differ greatly from each other, while others have the same characters. I would have liked to know when each was written, and the edition I read didn't include that.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at SCLibrary

To Top